International CHRIE's 2020 Award Winners

International CHRIE wishes to thank the many individuals who took the time to nominate a deserving colleague. All of this year's winners will be recognized at the 2021 Conference in Washington, DC.

Howard B. Meek Award
Stevenson W Fletcher Achievement Award
Lifetime Research Award
Faculty Collegiality Award
McCool Breakthrough Award

JHTR Article of the Year
JHTE Article of the Year
ICHRIE Johnson & Wales Case Study Competition
Outstanding Reviewer Awards
ESD Chapters of Distinction
ICHRIE Hotel Simulation Winners

The Howard B. Meek Award

Description: The Howard B. Meek Award is the highest individual recognition a member of International CHRIE may receive, it is presented annually to a member in recognition of the individual’s lifetime contributions and outstanding service to hospitality education. This award serves as a living memorial to the late Howard B. Meek, a pioneer in American hospitality education. “Prof” Meek was the first dean of the School of Hotel Administration at Cornell University and also served as executive vice president of International CHRIE.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: William Samenfink, Endicott College

Stevenson W. Fletcher Achievement Award

Description: The Stevenson W. Fletcher Achievement Award recognizes an individual educator or trainer for outstanding achievement in contributing innovative ideas, methods or programs that have advanced teaching, learning or practice in the field of hospitality and tourism education.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Cihan Cobanoglu, University of South Florida, Sarasota-Manatee

Lifetime Research Award

Description: The Lifetime Research Achievement Award recognizes an ICHRIE member for lifetime contributions to outstanding scholarship and research in hospitality and tourism. The award is given to an International CHRIE member who has made and continues to make significant contributions to the field of hospitality and tourism through scholarly research published in hospitality and non-hospitality journals over an extended period. It serves as a tribute for a distinguished individual who has demonstrated both leadership in a specialized field of study and high standards in the systematic and objective analysis of data that has led to a significant contribution to the body of knowledge.The John Wiley & Sons Award for Innovation in Teaching award recognizes an International CHRIE member for the individual’s implementation of innovative, creative, and effective teaching techniques in hospitality education at the high school, diploma, and college or university level.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Albert Assaf, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Faculty Collegiality Award

Description: The Faculty Collegiality Award is an individual award given to a faculty member who has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to fostering collegiality amongst peers. The ICHRIE member who receives this award displays a high level of team building characteristics in support of peers in their teaching, scholarship, and service both on their campus and externally. The spirit of collegiality is expressed through collaborative and constructive support of others to advance the quality of hospitality education, scholarship of value to the field, and selfless service.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Anna-Marie Rautenbach, College of the Rockies

McCool Breakthrough Award

Description: This is an award to honor the spirit of Willie McCool. This award will be given to an individual, group, program, school, college, association, or corporation that has made a significant break through or introduced a unique approach in the spirit of ICHRIE's mission. The award recognizes an event, activity, or program in the spirit of Willie McCool, a dedicated and successful astronaut and son of Audrey and Barry McCool, faculty members at the University of Nevada at Las Vegas.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Ecole Hoteliere de Lausanne, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University School of Hotel & Tourism Management, and University of Houston Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management

JHTR Article of the Year Award

Congratulations to this year's authors: Eojina Kim, Virginia Tech, Liang (Rebecca) Tang, Iowa State University, and Robert Bosselman, Iowa State University
Title of Article: Customer Perceptions of Innovativeness: An Accelerator for Value Co-Creation

JHTE Article of the Year Award

Congratulations to this year's authors: Osman Ahmed El-Said, Alexandria University and Maria del Mar Fuentes Fuentes, Vicerrectorado de Politica Institucional y Planificacion
Title of Article: Creative Thinking and Entrepreneurial Attitudes Among Tourism and Hospitality Students: The moderating role of the environment

Case Study Competition Winners

First Place: Jennifer London and Cynthia Deale, Hatteras and Highway 12: A chain of complexity
Second Place: Ashley Snyder and Eric Olson, Memorial Union Events: Staying relevant and sustainable
Third Place: Shiloh Schlauderaff, Jessica Press, Haley Huston, Joan Su and Ken Tsai, Are We Putting Our Favorite Destinations in Peril? A No Longer Lost City - Machu Picchu Case Study

Honorary mention:
Rick Lagiewski and Sanja Čović, Readiness and Response: The case of hotel emergency management during Hurricane
Gilpatrick Hornsby and Tiffany Hornsby, It's Above Me Now: Managerial support of minority front line employee

2020 Outstanding Reviewer Recognition

Congratulations to this year's recipients:
Outstanding JHTR Reviewer: Melissa Baker, University of Massachusetts Amherst and Nathaniel Line, Florida State University
Outstanding JHTE Reviewer: Hyounae (Kelly) Min, Cal Poly Pomona
Outstanding Case Study Paper Reviewer: Caiwei Ma, Shanghai Polytechnic University

ESD Chapters of Distinction

University of Houston
University of Hawaii – Manoa
East Carolina University

2020 ICHRIE Hotel Simulation Competition by Knowledge Matters

Congratulations to the winners:

First Place: Patrick Grzyb, University College of Northern Denmark
Second Place: Emily Zirbes, Iowa State University of Science and Technology
Third Place: Carlotta Buceti, University of Central Florida


image widget
image widget
image widget
image widget

image widget