2021 Award Winners

International CHRIE wishes to thank the many individuals who took the time to nominate a deserving colleague. All of this year's winners were  recognized at the 2021 Virtual Conference. To see past winners click here.

  • Howard B. Meek Award
  • Stevenson W Fletcher Achievement Award
  • Lifetime Research Award
  • Faculty Collegiality Award
  • McCool Breakthrough Award
  • JHTR Article of the Year
  • JHTE Article of the Year
  • ICHRIE Future Fund Case Study Competition
  • Outstanding Reviewer Awards
  • ESD Chapters of Distinction
  • ICHRIE Hotel Simulation Winners

Stevenson W. Fletcher Achievement Award

The Stevenson W. Fletcher Achievement Award recognizes an individual educator or trainer for outstanding achievement in contributing innovative ideas, methods or programs that have advanced teaching, learning or practice in the field of hospitality and tourism education.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Donna Albano, Stockton University

Lifetime Research Award

The Lifetime Research Achievement Award recognizes an ICHRIE member for lifetime contributions to outstanding scholarship and research in hospitality and tourism. The award is given to an International CHRIE member who has made and continues to make significant contributions to the field of hospitality and tourism through scholarly research published in hospitality and non-hospitality journals over an extended period. It serves as a tribute for a distinguished individual who has demonstrated both leadership in a specialized field of study and high standards in the systematic and objective analysis of data that has led to a significant contribution to the body of knowledge.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Dogan Gursoy, Washington State University

Faculty Collegiality Award

The Faculty Collegiality Award is an individual award given to a faculty member who has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to fostering collegiality amongst peers. The ICHRIE member who receives this award displays a high level of team building characteristics in support of peers in their teaching, scholarship, and service both on their campus and externally. The spirit of collegiality is expressed through collaborative and constructive support of others to advance the quality of hospitality education, scholarship of value to the field, and selfless service.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Priyanko Guchalt, University of Houston

McCool Breakthrough Award

This is an award to honor the spirit of Willie McCool. This award will be given to an individual, group, program, school, college, association, or corporation that has made a significant break through or introduced a unique approach in the spirit of ICHRIE's mission. The award recognizes an event, activity, or program in the spirit of Willie McCool, a dedicated and successful astronaut and son of Audrey and Barry McCool, faculty members at the University of Nevada at Las Vegas.

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Eta Sigma Delta Board of Governors

Research Award

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Dr. Ching-Hui (Joan) Su, Iowa State University

Innovation in Teaching Award

Congratulations to this year's recipient: Dr. Susan Gordon, Purdue University

JHTR Article of the Year Award

Congratulations to this year's authors: Xisco Oliver and Maria Sard
Title: Gender Wage Gap in Hospitality

Highly Commended 
Title: Traveling to a Gendered Destination: A Goal-Framed Advertising Perspective
Authors : Yulin Liu, Aaron Hsiao, Emily Ma

Title: Segmenting Tourism Markets Based on Demand Growth Patterns: A Longitudinal Profile Analysis Approach
Authors: Li Pan, Lu Lu, Dogan Gursoy

JHTE Article of the Year Award

Congratulations to this year's authors: Dr. Myong Jae Lee, Dr. Haesang Kang, Dr. Hyunsuk Choi,  Dr. David Andrew Olds
Title: Managerial Attitudes towards Green Practices in Educational Restaurant Operations: An Importance-Performance Analysis (Vol. 32, Issue 3, 2020)

Case Study Competition Winners
First Place Corporate Social Responsibility and COVID-19: Doing good and Doing well
Author: Soyeon Jung

Second Place Picture is Worth a Thousand Shares: The Case of Destination Canada’s Social Media Visual Storytelling Campaign
Author: Michael Lever and Statia Elliot 

Third Place  How DMOs Respond to the COVID-19 Pandemic: The Case of Los Angeles
Author: Xi Leung, Huiying Zhang and Billy

2021 Outstanding Reviewer Recognition

Congratulations to this year's recipients:

JHTR Reviewers: Professor Carl Boger, University of Houston, Professor Martin Falk,  University of South-Eastern Norway. Professor Kam-hon Leem The Chinese University of Hong Kong 

JHTE Reviewer: Dr. Laura Zizka, École hôtelière de Lausanne (EHL)

Case Study Paper Reviewer: Dr. Li-Chun Lin, Montclair State University

ESD Chapters of Distinction

California Polytechnic State University at Pomona
Temple University
University of North Texas

ICHRIE Hotel Simulation Competition by Knowledge Matters

Congratulations to the winners:

First Place: Mark Francis Plaza, University of the Philippines
Second Place: Emily Zirbes, Iowa State University of Science & Technology
Third Place: Chi En Vanessa Phoon, Hong Kong Polytechnic University


Gold Premium Members




 Boston                Florida Atlantic Univ      FL Gulf Coast Univ       FL International University                                                 RIT      Temple Univ                UMass Amherst      Univ of North Texas      Washington State Univ