Meet the Board




Muhittin Casuvaglo, President


Dear West Federation CHRIE Members,

I am thrilled to serve as the West Federation CHRIE president for 2022-2023. I am looking forward to a very exciting and productive year. I am honored to be working with the amazing colleagues and board of directors. I appreciate your willingness to serve for our organization. Please join me in congratulating our new board members:

  • Secretary - Harold Lee, University of North Texas
  • Director of Networking - Michelle Alcorn, Texas Tech University
  • Director of Research - Amrik Singh, University of Denver

As well as those who are returning as our existing board members:

  • Immediate Past President - Saehya Ann, California State University, East Bay
  • Vice-president - Sandra Ponting, San Diego State University
  • Treasurer - Shane Blum, Texas Tech University
  • Director of Member Services - Ryan Giffen, California State University, Long Beach
  • Director of Industry Relations - Angelo Camillo, Sonoma State University
  • Director of Education - Britt Mathwich, Colorado Mesa University

We also would like to acknowledge and thank our outgoing board members for their service to the West Federation CHRIE in 2021-2022:

  • Immediate Past President - Priyanko Guchait, University of Houston
  • Secretary - Michelle Millar, University of San Francisco
  • Director of Networking - Xi (CeCe) Leung, University of North Texas

We have the privilege to organize our next annual WF CHRIE conference that will be hosted by William F. Harrah College of Hospitality at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas on February 16-18, 2023. I would like to thank our hosts for supporting the conference. We are planning an amazing conference where we will bring students, faculty, and industry leaders together. We are planning an industry panel, an education panel, a general session, two professional development sessions, and concurrent academic sessions. We will also host research hackathon and undergraduate research track presentations; and present a diversity award. Our goal is to continue to serve our constituents while increasing awareness, inclusion, and membership.

Please visit our website and subscribe to our emailing list; and follow us on social media to receive most up-to-date information and announcements.

Muhittin Cavusoglu

WFCHRIE President

Deadlines are Approaching for WFCHRIE Conference: CfP, Diversity Award, and Scholarship

Dear WFCHRIE Members and Previous Conference Attendees,

I hope you are doing well. I would like to remind you of the approaching important deadlines.

  • Proposal Submission (Deadline: November 11, 2022, 11:59PM PST)

  • Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award Nomination (Deadline: November 15, 2022, 11:50PM PST)

  • Scholarship Application (Deadline: November 28, 2022, 5:00PM PST)

  • Research Hackathon

The 2023 WFCHRIE conference will be hosted by William F. Harrah College of Hospitality at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas on February 16-18, 2023. Please check out our conference website (www.wfchrie.org/2023-wf-chrie-conference ) for all the conference details.

Please see more details below:

Call for Proposals (Deadline: November 11, 2022, 11:59PM PST)

I would like to take this opportunity to invite faculty and students to submit their proposals for our conference. On top of the 20-minute stand-up presentation, 10-minute stand-up "speed" presentation, and poster presentation, we bring back the 50-minute roundtable. In addition, under the supervision of faculty mentor(s), undergraduate students can submit their completed research and research-in-progress for the Undergraduate Research Track: Please CLICK to access the call for proposals. All proposals will be submitted through EasyChair.

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award Nomination (Deadline: November 15, 2022, 11:50PM PST)

WFCHRIE is pleased to call for the nomination for the Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award, sponsored by California State University, Sacramento. This award recognizes significant achievements of individuals in developing a diverse and inclusive environment throughout the hospitality and tourism education, academia, industry, and/or community. Please CLICK to access WFCHRIE 2023 Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award Call for Nomination.

Scholarships Available (Deadline: November 28, 2022, 5:00PM PST)

 We are excited to have the opportunity to assist you in attending the West Federation CHRIE conference. The purpose of the scholarship is to provide financial assistance to outstanding individuals teaching at or attending community colleges and universities in the hospitality and tourism field so they may travel to the West Federation CHRIE conference. Two (2) $500 scholarships will be awarded – one for graduate students, and one for faculty members/lecturers. Please CLICK to see more details and submission form.

Research Hackathon

West Federation CHRIE (WF CHRIE) is excited to invite faculty and Ph.D. students (ABD required) to participate in the 2023 Research Hackathon, collaborating with three hospitality journals, Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Research (JHTR), Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education (JHTE), and Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Cases (JHTC). The goal of the Research Hackathon is to bring together researchers with diverse skills and knowledge to maximize collaboration and create novel scientific research. Further details will be notified as soon as they are finalized.

Our WFCHRIE Board and Conference Organizing teams will do their best to make this conference memorable and meaningful as it has been and to celebrate the future ahead together. We appreciate your support and trust.

Please direct any questions regarding WFCHRIE and the 2023 Virtual WFCHRIE Conference to [email protected]

Best Regards,

Conference Organizing Committee

President, Muhitin Cavusoglu

Vice President, Sandra Ponting

Immediate Past President, Saehya Ann

Director of Conference, Cass Shum

Director of Research, Amrik Singh




Gold Premium Members




 Boston                Florida Atlantic Univ      FL Gulf Coast Univ       FL International University                                                 RIT      Temple Univ                UMass Amherst      Univ of North Texas      Washington State Univ